top of page
  • Yukta Chand

Turmeric Face Mask: A Best Kept Beauty Secret

Updated: May 18, 2020

Need a spa day?? Look no further than your kitchen.

Craving a spa night or want to treat yourself look no further than your kitchen!

Let's get real about TURMERIC

In every brown/ desi household, turmeric is used in nearly everything!

I am all about face masks and skin care but from an early age my mother forbade me to put any “chemicals” (as she put it) on my skin. I didn’t even start using actual, regular face wash until I was maybe 17; before that I’d use just plain old water LOL. Every time I would have a rash or a pimple or acne scars I would be directed to the kitchen and my mom would whip up some random concoction. When I was younger I didn’t really believe it, but as I grew older I noticed that my skin was significantly better than my peers.


The one product my mom swore by and which I now SWEAR by is turmeric. In every brown/ desi household, turmeric is used in nearly everything! Not only is turmeric extremely affordable but also turmeric is widely recognized for its medicinal properties, specifically being anti-inflammatory and an antioxidant. In normal people language, that basically means it helps with swelling, redness on your skin and as an antioxidant, turmeric will prevent and slow the damage caused to your body’s cells. So essentially, it’s amazing for your body inside and out.


You want your food to look tastier. Turmeric. You feel like you're coming down with something. Turmeric mixed with water/ milk. You’re breaking out. Turmeric mask. If you have any sort of problem, more times than not I can guarantee you turmeric will have some sort of cure. So before I begin to sound like an encyclopedia on all things turmeric let's go back to the turmeric mask I just mentioned.

***How wild Turmeric looks like***

The Mask

Turmeric helps reduce redness and swelling on your skin. Personally, this mask has also lightened my acne scars/ dark spots under my eyes and around my lips/ and relieved sunburns and overall leaves my skin feeling super fresh with a nice, healthy glow.


The other ingredients in this mask are honey, lemon juice, and yogurt. I can do another post about honey, lemon, and yogurt separately because those products are FREAKING amazing for your health, hair, and skin also !!


I usually purchase wild turmeric from Indian Grocery store, sun-dry it, and then grind it into its power form; however you can easily purchase organic turmeric from your local grocery store.

The yogurt you use for the mask should not have any sort of flavor; however, greek yogurt is fine and actually might be more moisturizing than regular fat-free or 2% yogurt.


The honey I get is from the local Griggstown Farmers Market. Local farmers markets are the best place to get honey and honestly anything because it highkey ensures that what you are using is completely natural. If you want to go a step further, using Manuka honey or raw honey are also definitely GREAT options for skin care. But in general any honey you get from your grocery stores should suffice.

And lastly for the lemon juice, again sticking to the au naturale, plain old lemon juice squeezed right from the lemon is best :)

For this mask you will want to use about a half a tablespoon of yogurt, a full spoon of turmeric, squeeze of lemon juice and a splash of honey. Usually I stick to using slightly more turmeric than yogurt and honey. This sounds OD annoying but I honestly don’t use any exact measurements to make the mask. You want to try to get it to be the consistency in the picture.

***Mask Consistency***

And voila you have a turmeric mask <33 apply on your face for about 10-15 min, until it starts to dry and wash off with warm water!

And also.. IF THIS IS YOUR FIRST TIME USING THIS, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE BE SURE TO APPLY A SMALL PATCH OF THIS MASK ON YOUR HAND FIRST!!!! These products work fantastically on my skin and will prob work amazing on yours too because it's all natural but you never know what you're allergic to. (NUMBER ONE rule of skin care to live by for the rest of your life: what works on one person’s skin might not work on your skin, we’re all unique w/ different skin types so always try a little on your hand or arm first :)


The best part about this mask is that even if you use a small amount today, you could keep the mask covered up in your fridge for over a week and it won’t go bad.


So grab them cucumber and your fave relaxing candle ladies (AND men) and prepare for an at-home spa night with this turmeric mask!! Let me know in the comments how this went for you and don’t forget to subscribe <33


xx yukta

138 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#BLM

bottom of page